pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone
     
Email: Subscribe to news & offers:
Need assistance? Log In/Register


Item Details
Title: DISRAELI
THE NOVEL POLITICIAN
By: David Cesarani
Format: Hardback

List price: £16.99
Our price: £15.29
Discount:
10% off
You save: £1.70
ISBN 10: 0300137516
ISBN 13: 9780300137514
Availability: Usually dispatched within 3-5 days.
 Delivery rates
Stock: Currently 1item in stock
Publisher: YALE UNIVERSITY PRESS
Pub. date: 5 April, 2016
Series: Jewish Lives
Pages: 304
Description: A fresh, vivid look at Disraeli's life, achievements, and temperament that casts doubts on his much-touted commitment to Jewish rights
Synopsis: A fresh, vivid look at Disraeli's life, achievements, and temperament that casts doubts on his much-touted commitment to Jewish rights Lauded as a "great Jew," excoriated by antisemites, and one of Britain's most renowned prime ministers, Benjamin Disraeli has been widely celebrated for his role in Jewish history. But is the perception of him as a Jewish hero accurate? In what ways did he contribute to Jewish causes? In this groundbreaking, lucid investigation of Disraeli's life and accomplishments, David Cesarani draws a new portrait of one of Europe's leading nineteenth-century statesmen, a complicated, driven, opportunistic man. While acknowledging that Disraeli never denied his Jewish lineage, boasted of Jewish achievements, and argued for Jewish civil rights while serving as MP, Cesarani challenges the assumption that Disraeli truly cared about Jewish issues. Instead, his driving personal ambition required him to confront his Jewishness at the same time as he acted opportunistically.By creating a myth of aristocratic Jewish origins for himself, and by arguing that Jews were a superior race, Disraeli boosted his own career but also contributed to the consolidation of some of the most fundamental stereotypes of modern antisemitism.
Illustrations: 1 b-w illus.
Publication: US
Imprint: Yale University Press
Returns: Returnable
Some other items by this author:
AFTER EICHMANN
AFTER EICHMANN
AFTER EICHMANN
AFTER EICHMANN (HB)
AFTER EICHMANN (PB)
AFTER THE HOLOCAUST
AFTER THE HOLOCAUST
AFTER THE HOLOCAUST
AFTER THE HOLOCAUST
AFTER THE HOLOCAUST
AFTER THE HOLOCAUST (HB)
AFTER THE HOLOCAUST (PB)
ARTHUR KOESTLER (PB)
BECOMING EICHMANN (PB)
BELSEN 1945 (HB)
BELSEN 1945 (PB)
BELSEN IN HISTORY AND MEMORY
BELSEN IN HISTORY AND MEMORY
BELSEN IN HISTORY AND MEMORY
BELSEN IN HISTORY AND MEMORY (HB)
BELSEN IN HISTORY AND MEMORY (PB)
BRITAIN AND THE HOLOCAUST (PB)
BYSTANDERS TO THE HOLOCAUST
BYSTANDERS TO THE HOLOCAUST
BYSTANDERS TO THE HOLOCAUST
BYSTANDERS TO THE HOLOCAUST (HB)
BYSTANDERS TO THE HOLOCAUST (PB)
CITIZENSHIP, NATIONALITY AND MIGRATION IN EUROPE
CITIZENSHIP, NATIONALITY AND MIGRATION IN EUROPE
CITIZENSHIP, NATIONALITY AND MIGRATION IN EUROPE
CITIZENSHIP, NATIONALITY AND MIGRATION IN EUROPE
CITIZENSHIP, NATIONALITY AND MIGRATION IN EUROPE
CITIZENSHIP, NATIONALITY AND MIGRATION IN EUROPE
CITIZENSHIP, NATIONALITY AND MIGRATION IN EUROPE (HB)
CITIZENSHIP, NATIONALITY AND MIGRATION IN EUROPE (PB)
DISRAELI
DISRAELI (PB)
EICHMANN (PB)
FINAL SOLUTION
FINAL SOLUTION (HB)
FINAL SOLUTION (PB)
GENOCIDE AND RESCUE (HB)
GENOCIDE AND RESCUE (PB)
GREAT PHILANTHROPISTS
GREAT PHILANTHROPISTS (HB)
INTERACTIVE PROBLEM SOLVING USING LOGO
INTO THE ARMS OF STRANGERS (PB)
JEWISH CHRONICLE AND ANGLO-JEWRY, 1841-1991 (HB)
JEWS AND PORT CITIES (HB)
JEWS AND PORT CITIES (PB)
JUSTICE DELAYED (PB)
JUSTICE, POLITICS AND MEMORY IN EUROPE AFTER THE SECOND WORLD WAR (HB)
MAJOR FARRAN'S HAT (PB)
MAJOR FARRAN'S HAT (PB)
PLACE AND DISPLACEMENT IN JEWISH HISTORY AND MEMORY (HB)
PLACE AND DISPLACEMENT IN JEWISH HISTORY AND MEMORY (PB)
PORT JEWS
PORT JEWS
PORT JEWS
PORT JEWS (HB)
PORT JEWS (PB)
SOUND PRACTICE, SECOND EDITION
SURVIVORS OF NAZI PERSECUTION IN EUROPE AFTER THE SECOND WORLD WAR (HB)
SWITZERLAND AND THE SECOND WORLD WAR (HB)
THE DEVELOPMENTAL PSYCHOPATHOLOGY OF EATING DISORDERS
THE FINAL SOLUTION
THE FINAL SOLUTION
THE FINAL SOLUTION
THE FINAL SOLUTION
THE FINAL SOLUTION
THE HACKNEY CRUCIBLE (PB)
THE HOLOCAUST (HB)
THE INTERNMENT OF ALIENS IN TWENTIETH CENTURY BRITAIN
THE INTERNMENT OF ALIENS IN TWENTIETH CENTURY BRITAIN
THE INTERNMENT OF ALIENS IN TWENTIETH CENTURY BRITAIN
THE INTERNMENT OF ALIENS IN TWENTIETH CENTURY BRITAIN (HB)
THE INTERNMENT OF ALIENS IN TWENTIETH CENTURY BRITAIN (PB)
THE JEWISH CHRONICLE AND ANGLO-JEWRY, 1841-1991
THE JEWISH CHRONICLE AND ANGLO-JEWRY, 1841-1991 (PB)
THE LEFT AND THE JEWS (PB)



Information provided by www.pickabook.co.uk
SHOPPING BASKET
  
Your basket is empty
  Total Items: 0
 

Up to 35% off new titles
The Fates Divide
By: VERONICA ROTH
Fans of Star Wars, Divergent and Carve the Mark will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth''s final instalment in her stunning science-fiction fantasy series.
add to basket

30% off Oxford University Press
Oxford School Dictionary
By: OXFORD DICTIONARIES
This new edition of the bestselling Oxford School Dictionary (paperback) has contemporary, comprehensive vocabulary coverage, example sentences, and fascinating word origins. The dictionary supports students with their language and spelling skills, and helps with the transition from primary to secondary.
add to basket

New Title
Great Telephone Mix-Up
By: SALLY NICHOLLS
A charming tale of community, making new connections and lending a helping hand, from a successful author and illustrator pairing.
add to basket

New Title
Shatter Me
By: TAHEREH MAFI
I''m envious. I couldn''t put it down." (Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of Fallen) Tahereh Mafi is the New York Times bestselling author of the Shatter Me series which has been published in over 30 languages around the world.
add to basket

Up to 35% off New Titles
Mariella, Queen of the Skies
By: EOIN COLFER
Super-smart inventor Mariella doesn''t have time for sleep in this funny and life-affirming gem from award-winning beloved author Eoin Colfer, featuring colour illustrations from rising star Katy Halford.
add to basket

New Title
Rebound
By: KWAME ALEXANDER
From the New York Times-bestselling author Kwame Alexander comes a stunning coming-of-age novel in verse about basketball, family and staying true to yourself. A prequel to The Crossover, winner of the Newbery Medal, and follow-up to Booked, highly commended for the CLiPPA prize and nominated for the Carnegie Medal.
add to basket


New Title
The Invincible Tony Spears - Lost in Space
By: NEAL LAYTON
What would you do if a red button in your kitchen cupboard could transport you to a spaceship? Press it, of course! Created by the award-winning author and illustrator Neal Layton.
add to basket

New Title
PramBusters!
By: ANNE FINE
When the rain threatens to ruin the fun at summer camp, Malik are tasked with some inventing... A funny and charming Little Gem from national treasure Anne Fine, with beautiful artwork by illustration star Vicki Gausden - Anne''s collaborator on Out for the Count. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 5+
add to basket