pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone
     
Email: Subscribe to news & offers:
Need assistance? Log In/Register


Item Details
Title: SUPERINTELLIGENCE
PATHS, DANGERS, STRATEGIES
By: Nick Bostrom
Format: Paperback

List price: £9.99
Our price: £6.99
Discount:
30% off
You save: £3.00
ISBN 10: 0198739834
ISBN 13: 9780198739838
Availability: Usually dispatched within 1-2 days.
 Delivery rates
Stock: Currently 1000 available
Publisher: OXFORD UNIVERSITY PRESS
Pub. date: 29 March, 2016
Pages: 432
Description: This seminal book injects the topic of superintelligence into the academic and popular mainstream. What happens when machines surpass humans in general intelligence? Will artificial agents save or destroy us? In a tour de force of analytic thinking, Bostrom lays a foundation for understanding the future of humanity and intelligent life.
Synopsis: The human brain has some capabilities that the brains of other animals lack. It is to these distinctive capabilities that our species owes its dominant position. Other animals have stronger muscles or sharper claws, but we have cleverer brains. If machine brains one day come to surpass human brains in general intelligence, then this new superintelligence could become very powerful. As the fate of the gorillas now depends more on us humans than on the gorillas themselves, so the fate of our species then would come to depend on the actions of the machine superintelligence. But we have one advantage: we get to make the first move. Will it be possible to construct a seed AI or otherwise to engineer initial conditions so as to make an intelligence explosion survivable? How could one achieve a controlled detonation? To get closer to an answer to this question, we must make our way through a fascinating landscape of topics and considerations.Read the book and learn about oracles, genies, singletons; about boxing methods, tripwires, and mind crime; about humanity's cosmic endowment and differential technological development; indirect normativity, instrumental convergence, whole brain emulation and technology couplings; Malthusian economics and dystopian evolution; artificial intelligence, and biological cognitive enhancement, and collective intelligence. This profoundly ambitious and original book picks its way carefully through a vast tract of forbiddingly difficult intellectual terrain. Yet the writing is so lucid that it somehow makes it all seem easy. After an utterly engrossing journey that takes us to the frontiers of thinking about the human condition and the future of intelligent life, we find in Nick Bostrom's work nothing less than a reconceptualization of the essential task of our time.
Illustrations: black and white line drawings and halftones
Publication: UK
Imprint: Oxford University Press
Returns: Returnable
Some other items by this author:

CUSTOMERS WHO PURCHASED THIS ITEM ALSO BOUGHT
Carve the Mark (Hardback)
By: Veronica Roth
more details
Forces of Nature (Paperback)
By: Brian Cox, Andrew Cohen
more details
Rejected Princesses (Hardback)
By: Jason Porath
more details
TOP SELLERS IN THIS CATEGORY
What If (Paperback)
By: Randall Munroe
Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Our Price : £7.29
more details
Sapiens (Paperback)
By: Yuval Noah Harari
Vintage Publishing
Our Price : £7.29
more details
The Selfish Gene (Paperback)
By: Richard Dawkins
Oxford University Press
Our Price : £6.99
more details
A Brief History Of Time (Paperback)
By: Stephen Hawking
Transworld Publishers Ltd
Our Price : £7.29
more details
Excellent Sheep (Paperback)
By: William Deresiewicz
Simon & Schuster
Our Price : £7.29
more details
BROWSE FOR BOOKS IN RELATED CATEGORIES
 MATHEMATICS AND SCIENCE
 science: general issues
 popular science


Information provided by www.pickabook.co.uk
SHOPPING BASKET
  
Your basket is empty
  Total Items: 0
 

Up to 35% off new titles
The Fates Divide
By: VERONICA ROTH
Fans of Star Wars, Divergent and Carve the Mark will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth''s final instalment in her stunning science-fiction fantasy series.
add to basket

30% off Oxford University Press
Oxford School Dictionary
By: OXFORD DICTIONARIES
This new edition of the bestselling Oxford School Dictionary (paperback) has contemporary, comprehensive vocabulary coverage, example sentences, and fascinating word origins. The dictionary supports students with their language and spelling skills, and helps with the transition from primary to secondary.
add to basket

New Title
Great Telephone Mix-Up
By: SALLY NICHOLLS
A charming tale of community, making new connections and lending a helping hand, from a successful author and illustrator pairing.
add to basket

New Title
Shatter Me
By: TAHEREH MAFI
I''m envious. I couldn''t put it down." (Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of Fallen) Tahereh Mafi is the New York Times bestselling author of the Shatter Me series which has been published in over 30 languages around the world.
add to basket

Up to 35% off New Titles
Mariella, Queen of the Skies
By: EOIN COLFER
Super-smart inventor Mariella doesn''t have time for sleep in this funny and life-affirming gem from award-winning beloved author Eoin Colfer, featuring colour illustrations from rising star Katy Halford.
add to basket

New Title
Rebound
By: KWAME ALEXANDER
From the New York Times-bestselling author Kwame Alexander comes a stunning coming-of-age novel in verse about basketball, family and staying true to yourself. A prequel to The Crossover, winner of the Newbery Medal, and follow-up to Booked, highly commended for the CLiPPA prize and nominated for the Carnegie Medal.
add to basket


New Title
The Invincible Tony Spears - Lost in Space
By: NEAL LAYTON
What would you do if a red button in your kitchen cupboard could transport you to a spaceship? Press it, of course! Created by the award-winning author and illustrator Neal Layton.
add to basket

New Title
PramBusters!
By: ANNE FINE
When the rain threatens to ruin the fun at summer camp, Malik are tasked with some inventing... A funny and charming Little Gem from national treasure Anne Fine, with beautiful artwork by illustration star Vicki Gausden - Anne''s collaborator on Out for the Count. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 5+
add to basket