pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone
     
Email: Subscribe to news & offers:
Need assistance? Log In/Register


Item Details
Title: INVESTIGATING ENGLISH DISCOURSE
LANGUAGE, LITERACY, LITERATURE
By: Ronald Carter
Format: Hardback

List price: £105.00
Our price: £94.50
Discount:
10% off
You save: £10.50
ISBN 10: 041514065X
ISBN 13: 9780415140652
Availability: Usually dispatched within 1-3 weeks.
 Delivery rates
Stock: Currently 0 available
Publisher: TAYLOR & FRANCIS LTD
Pub. date: 30 October, 1997
Pages: 264
Description: In this text Ronald Carter addresses the discourse of "English" as a subject of teaching and learning. The topics investigated include: grammar; correctness and standard English; critical language awareness and literacy; and language and creativity.
Synopsis: In this challenging and at times controversial book, Ronald Carter addresses the discourse of 'English' as a subject of teaching and learning. Among the key topics investigated are: * grammar * correctness and standard English * critical language awareness and literacy * language and creativity * the methodological integration of language and literature in the curriculum * discourse theory and textual interpretation. Investigating English Discourse is a collection of revised, re-edited and newly written papers which contain extensive contrastive analyses of different styles of international English. These range from casual conversation to advertisement, poetry, jokes, metaphor, stories by canonical writers, public notices and children's writing. Ronald Carter highlights key issues for the study and teaching of 'English' for the year 2000 and beyond, focusing in particular on its political and ideological inflections. Investigating English Discourse is of relevance to teachers and students and researchers in the fields of discourse analysis, English as a first, second and foreign language, language and education, applied and literary linguistics.
Publication: UK
Imprint: Routledge
Returns: Returnable
Some other items by this author:
ANIMAL FARM (PB)
CAL (PB)
CAMBRIDGE GRAMMAR OF ENGLISH (HB)
CAMBRIDGE GRAMMAR OF ENGLISH (PB)
CAMBRIDGE GRAMMAR OF ENGLISH HARDBACK WITH CD ROM
CAMBRIDGE GRAMMAR OF ENGLISH NETWORK CD-ROM (CD)
CAMBRIDGE GRAMMAR OF ENGLISH PAPERBACK WITH CD ROM
CREATIVITY IN LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE (HB)
CREATIVITY IN LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE (PB)
DEVELOPMENTAL ASPECTS OF HEALTH COMPLIANCE BEHAVIOR
DEVELOPMENTAL ASPECTS OF HEALTH COMPLIANCE BEHAVIOR
ENGLISH GRAMMAR TODAY BOOK WITH CD-ROM AND WORKBOOK
ENGLISH GRAMMAR TODAY BOOK WITH WORKBOOK
ENGLISH GRAMMAR TODAY WITH CD-ROM
ENGLISH GRAMMAR TODAY WORKBOOK (PB)
EVIDENCE-BASED HEALTH COMMUNICATION
EVIDENCE-BASED HEALTH COMMUNICATION (PB)
EXPLORING SPOKEN ENGLISH (HB)
EXPLORING SPOKEN ENGLISH (PB)
EXPLORING SPOKEN ENGLISH AUDIO CDS (2) (CD)
FROM CORPUS TO CLASSROOM (HB)
FROM CORPUS TO CLASSROOM (PB)
HOW TO ANALYSE TEXTS
HOW TO ANALYSE TEXTS
HOW TO ANALYSE TEXTS
HOW TO ANALYSE TEXTS (HB)
HOW TO ANALYSE TEXTS (PB)
INVESTIGATING ENGLISH DISCOURSE
INVESTIGATING ENGLISH DISCOURSE
INVESTIGATING ENGLISH DISCOURSE
INVESTIGATING ENGLISH DISCOURSE
INVESTIGATING ENGLISH DISCOURSE (PB)
KEYWORDS IN LANGUAGE AND LITERACY
KEYWORDS IN LANGUAGE AND LITERACY
KEYWORDS IN LANGUAGE AND LITERACY
KEYWORDS IN LANGUAGE AND LITERACY
KEYWORDS IN LANGUAGE AND LITERACY
KEYWORDS IN LANGUAGE AND LITERACY (HB)
KEYWORDS IN LANGUAGE AND LITERACY (PB)
LANGUAGE AND CREATIVITY
LANGUAGE AND CREATIVITY
LANGUAGE AND CREATIVITY
LANGUAGE AND CREATIVITY
LANGUAGE AND CREATIVITY
LANGUAGE AND CREATIVITY
LANGUAGE AND CREATIVITY
LANGUAGE AND CREATIVITY
LANGUAGE AND CREATIVITY (HB)
LANGUAGE AND CREATIVITY (HB)
LANGUAGE AND CREATIVITY (PB)
LANGUAGE AND CREATIVITY (PB)
LANGUAGE AS DISCOURSE
LANGUAGE AS DISCOURSE
LANGUAGE AS DISCOURSE
LANGUAGE AS DISCOURSE (HB)
LANGUAGE AS DISCOURSE (PB)
LANGUAGE, DISCOURSE AND LITERATURE
LANGUAGE, DISCOURSE AND LITERATURE
LANGUAGE, DISCOURSE AND LITERATURE
LANGUAGE, DISCOURSE AND LITERATURE
LANGUAGE, DISCOURSE AND LITERATURE
LANGUAGE, DISCOURSE AND LITERATURE
LANGUAGE, DISCOURSE AND LITERATURE (HB)
LANGUAGE, DISCOURSE AND LITERATURE (PB)
LANGUAGE, LITERATURE AND THE LEARNER
LANGUAGE, LITERATURE AND THE LEARNER
LANGUAGE, LITERATURE AND THE LEARNER
LANGUAGE, LITERATURE AND THE LEARNER (HB)
LANGUAGE, LITERATURE AND THE LEARNER (PB)
LINGUISTIC CHOICE ACROSS GENRES
LINGUISTIC CHOICE ACROSS GENRES (HB)
LINGUISTICS AND THE TEACHER
LINGUISTICS AND THE TEACHER
LINGUISTICS AND THE TEACHER
LINGUISTICS AND THE TEACHER
LINGUISTICS AND THE TEACHER
LINGUISTICS AND THE TEACHER (HB)
LINGUISTICS AND THE TEACHER (PB)
NINETEEN EIGHTY-FOUR (PB)
OFF THE FRAME (PB)
PENGUIN GUIDE TO ENGLISH LITERATURE (PB)
RECENT INTELLIGENCE (PB)
SEEING THROUGH LANGUAGE (PB)
SPOKEN CORPUS LINGUISTICS
SPOKEN CORPUS LINGUISTICS
SPOKEN CORPUS LINGUISTICS
SPOKEN CORPUS LINGUISTICS (HB)
SPOKEN CORPUS LINGUISTICS (PB)
TEACHING OF LITERATURE (PB)
TEN SHORT STORIES (PB)
THE CAMBRIDGE GUIDE TO TEACHING ENGLISH TO SPEAKERS OF OTHER LANGUAGES (PB)
THE DECLINE AND FALL OF HEMISPHERIC SPECIALIZATION
THE LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE READER (HB)
THE LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE READER (PB)
THE LANGUAGE OF SPEECH AND WRITING
THE LANGUAGE OF SPEECH AND WRITING
THE LANGUAGE OF SPEECH AND WRITING
THE LANGUAGE OF SPEECH AND WRITING
THE LANGUAGE OF SPEECH AND WRITING
THE LANGUAGE OF SPEECH AND WRITING (HB)
THE LANGUAGE OF SPEECH AND WRITING (PB)
THE NATIONAL CURRICULUM FOR ENGLISH (PB)
THE NATIONAL CURRICULUM FOR ENGLISH (PB)
THE PENGUIN GUIDE TO LITERATURE IN ENGLISH (PB)
THE PENGUIN GUIDE TO LITERATURE IN ENGLISH: BRITAIN AND IRELAND (PB)
THE ROUTLEDGE GUIDE TO MODERN ENGLISH WRITING (HB)
THE ROUTLEDGE GUIDE TO MODERN ENGLISH WRITING (PB)
THE ROUTLEDGE HISTORY OF LITERATURE IN ENGLISH
THE ROUTLEDGE HISTORY OF LITERATURE IN ENGLISH
THE ROUTLEDGE HISTORY OF LITERATURE IN ENGLISH
THE ROUTLEDGE HISTORY OF LITERATURE IN ENGLISH
THE ROUTLEDGE HISTORY OF LITERATURE IN ENGLISH
THE ROUTLEDGE HISTORY OF LITERATURE IN ENGLISH
THE ROUTLEDGE HISTORY OF LITERATURE IN ENGLISH
THE ROUTLEDGE HISTORY OF LITERATURE IN ENGLISH
THE ROUTLEDGE HISTORY OF LITERATURE IN ENGLISH (HB)
THE ROUTLEDGE HISTORY OF LITERATURE IN ENGLISH (HB)
THE ROUTLEDGE HISTORY OF LITERATURE IN ENGLISH (PB)
THIRTIES POETS - "THE AUDEN GROUP" (PB)
TRUST THE TEXT
TRUST THE TEXT
TRUST THE TEXT
TRUST THE TEXT
TRUST THE TEXT
TRUST THE TEXT (HB)
TRUST THE TEXT (PB)
VOCABULARY
VOCABULARY
VOCABULARY
VOCABULARY
VOCABULARY
VOCABULARY
VOCABULARY
VOCABULARY
VOCABULARY
VOCABULARY
VOCABULARY
VOCABULARY (HB)
VOCABULARY (HB)
VOCABULARY (PB)
VOCABULARY AND LANGUAGE TEACHING
VOCABULARY AND LANGUAGE TEACHING
VOCABULARY AND LANGUAGE TEACHING
VOCABULARY AND LANGUAGE TEACHING (HB)
VOCABULARY AND LANGUAGE TEACHING (PB)
WORKING WITH TEXTS
WORKING WITH TEXTS
WORKING WITH TEXTS
WORKING WITH TEXTS
WORKING WITH TEXTS
WORKING WITH TEXTS
WORKING WITH TEXTS
WORKING WITH TEXTS
WORKING WITH TEXTS
WORKING WITH TEXTS
WORKING WITH TEXTS (HB)
WORKING WITH TEXTS (PB)

TOP SELLERS IN THIS CATEGORY
Metaphor and Intercultural Communication (Paperback)
By: Andreas Musolff (Editor), Fiona MacArthur (Editor), Giulio Pagani (Editor)
Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Our Price : £20.29
more details
I. A. Richards and the Rise of Cognitive Stylistics (Paperback)
By: David West
Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Our Price : £13.12
more details
In Defence of Rhetoric (Paperback)
By: Brian Vickers
Oxford University Press
Our Price : £48.13
more details
Centering Theory in Discourse (Hardback)
By: Marilyn Walker (Editor), Aravind K. Joshi (Editor), Ellen F. Prince (Editor)
Oxford University Press
Our Price : £140.00
more details
A Theory of Linguistic Signs (Hardback)
By: Rudi Keller, Kimberley Duenwald (Trans)
Oxford University Press
Our Price : £115.94
more details
BROWSE FOR BOOKS IN RELATED CATEGORIES
 LANGUAGE, LITERATURE AND BIOGRAPHY
 language & linguistics
 semantics (meaning)


Information provided by www.pickabook.co.uk
SHOPPING BASKET
  
Your basket is empty
  Total Items: 0
 

Up to 35% off new titles
The Fates Divide
By: VERONICA ROTH
Fans of Star Wars, Divergent and Carve the Mark will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth''s final instalment in her stunning science-fiction fantasy series.
add to basket

30% off Oxford University Press
Oxford School Dictionary
By: OXFORD DICTIONARIES
This new edition of the bestselling Oxford School Dictionary (paperback) has contemporary, comprehensive vocabulary coverage, example sentences, and fascinating word origins. The dictionary supports students with their language and spelling skills, and helps with the transition from primary to secondary.
add to basket

New Title
Great Telephone Mix-Up
By: SALLY NICHOLLS
A charming tale of community, making new connections and lending a helping hand, from a successful author and illustrator pairing.
add to basket

New Title
Shatter Me
By: TAHEREH MAFI
I''m envious. I couldn''t put it down." (Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of Fallen) Tahereh Mafi is the New York Times bestselling author of the Shatter Me series which has been published in over 30 languages around the world.
add to basket

Up to 35% off New Titles
Mariella, Queen of the Skies
By: EOIN COLFER
Super-smart inventor Mariella doesn''t have time for sleep in this funny and life-affirming gem from award-winning beloved author Eoin Colfer, featuring colour illustrations from rising star Katy Halford.
add to basket

New Title
Rebound
By: KWAME ALEXANDER
From the New York Times-bestselling author Kwame Alexander comes a stunning coming-of-age novel in verse about basketball, family and staying true to yourself. A prequel to The Crossover, winner of the Newbery Medal, and follow-up to Booked, highly commended for the CLiPPA prize and nominated for the Carnegie Medal.
add to basket


New Title
The Invincible Tony Spears - Lost in Space
By: NEAL LAYTON
What would you do if a red button in your kitchen cupboard could transport you to a spaceship? Press it, of course! Created by the award-winning author and illustrator Neal Layton.
add to basket

New Title
PramBusters!
By: ANNE FINE
When the rain threatens to ruin the fun at summer camp, Malik are tasked with some inventing... A funny and charming Little Gem from national treasure Anne Fine, with beautiful artwork by illustration star Vicki Gausden - Anne''s collaborator on Out for the Count. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 5+
add to basket