pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone
     
Email: Subscribe to news & offers:
Need assistance? Log In/Register


Item Details
Title: REMEMBERED LIGHT
CY TWOMBLY IN LEXINGTON
By: Sally Mann, Simon Schama
Format: Hardback

List price: £30.00
Our price: £21.90
Discount:
27% off
You save: £8.10
ISBN 10: 1419722727
ISBN 13: 9781419722721
Availability: Usually dispatched within 1-2 days.
 Delivery rates
Stock: Currently 2 available
Publisher: ABRAMS
Pub. date: 1 October, 2016
Pages: 112
Description: A look inside the studio of leading contemporary artist Cy Twombly, as documented by renowned photographer Sally Mann
Synopsis: The artists Cy Twombly and Sally Mann may at first seem an unlikely pairing. He was a leading contemporary artist who defied easy categorisation, a painter and sculptor whose enigmatic work often referenced mythology and epic poetry. She is a photographer with an uncanny ability to tap raw human emotion, whether depicting members of her family or the landscape of the American South. What they had in common was place--neighbouring properties in rural Lexington, Virginia, where Twombly kept a studio and produced some of his most important work up until his death in 2011 and where Mann has lived and worked all her life. Over the course of several years, Mann photographed inside Twombly's studio, the paint splatters on the floors and wall, the works in progress, the sculptures as they caught raking rays of light passing through Venetian blinds, the progression from order to chaos that so often characterises an artist's working place. The result is a rare insider's view of Towmbly's process--we sense him in the room at every turn, although he is always just beyond the frame--and a poetic dialogue between two artistic visions.
Illustrations: 58 duotone and 4-colour illustrations, intermixed
Publication: US
Imprint: Harry N. Abrams, Inc.
Returns: Returnable
Some other items by this author:
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN (AUD)
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN (CD)
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN (CD)
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN (CD)
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN (HB)
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN (HB)
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN - VOLUME 1
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN - VOLUME 1 (PB)
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN - VOLUME 2
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN - VOLUME 2 (PB)
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN - VOLUME 3
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN - VOLUME 3 (PB)
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN 2 (AUD)
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN 2 (CD)
A TALE OF TWO CITIES, A (HB)
AMERICAN FUTURE, THE A HISTORY (HB)
ANSELM KIEFER (HB)
ANSELM KIEFER (PB)
BELONGING
BELONGING (HB)
BELONGING (PB)
BELONGING SIGNED COPIES (HB)
CITIZENS (PB)
CY TWOMBLY - FIFTY YEARS OF WORKS ON PAPER (PB)
CY TWOMBLY AT THE HERMITAGE (HB)
DEAD CERTAINTIES
DEAD CERTAINTIES (PB)
DEAD CERTAINTIES (PB)
DEEP SOUTH (HB)
DELIRIUM (PB)
EMBARRASSMENT OF RICHES (PB)
EYE AGAINST EYE (PB)
HANG-UPS
HANG-UPS (HB)
HANG-UPS (PB)
HISTORY OF BRITAIN (CD)
HISTORY OF BRITAIN (VOL 2): THE BRITISH WARS 1603-1776 (PB)
HISTORY OF BRITAIN (VOL 3) (HB)
HISTORY OF BRITAIN (VOL 3): THE FATE OF THE EMPIRE: 1776-2000 (PB)
HISTORY OF BRITAIN BOX SET 1 VIDEO VAT (HB)
IMMEDIATE FAMILY (PB)
LANDSCAPE AND MEMORY (PB)
PATRIOTS AND LIBERATORS (PB)
Q&A PICASSO (PB)
RAPPACCINI'S DAUGHTER (PB)
REMBRANDT'S EYES (PB)
ROUGH CROSSINGS
ROUGH CROSSINGS (PB)
ROUGH CROSSINGS (PB)
SALLY MANN (HB)
SALLY MANN (PB)
SALLY MANN: IMMEDIATE FAMILY (PB)
SALLY MANN: STILL TIME (PB)
SALLY MANN: THE FLESH AND THE SPIRIT (HB)
SCRIBBLE, SCRIBBLE, SCRIBBLE
SCRIBBLE, SCRIBBLE, SCRIBBLE (HB)
SCRIBBLE, SCRIBBLE, SCRIBBLE (PB)
SIMON SCHAMA'S POWER OF ART (HB)
STORY OF JEWS VOL 2 BELONGING 1492-1900 (HB)
THE AMERICAN FUTURE
THE AMERICAN FUTURE (PB)
THE DEATH OF THE PAST (PB)
THE EMBARRASSMENT OF RICHES (PB)
THE ESSENTIAL CY TWOMBLY (HB)
THE FACE OF BRITAIN (CD)
THE FACE OF BRITAIN (HB)
THE FACE OF BRITAIN (PB)
THE NETHERLANDS AND NAZI GERMANY
THE POWER OF ART
THE POWER OF ART (PB)
THE STORY OF THE JEWS
THE STORY OF THE JEWS (HB)
THE STORY OF THE JEWS (PB)
THE STORY OF THE JEWS (PB)
WHAT REMAINS (HB)

TOP SELLERS IN THIS CATEGORY
The Photograph as Contemporary Art (Paperback)
By: Charlotte Cotton
Thames & Hudson Ltd
Our Price : £7.99
more details
How to Write About Contemporary Art (Paperback)
By: Gilda Williams
Thames & Hudson Ltd
Our Price : £9.45
more details
Craft Cocktails (Hardback)
By: Brian Van Flandern
Assouline
Our Price : £27.74
more details
Why Your Five Year Old Could Not Have Done That (Paperback)
By: Susie Hodge
Thames & Hudson Ltd
Our Price : £7.29
more details
Codex Seraphinianus XXXIII (Hardback)
By: Luigi Serafini
Rizzoli International Publications
Our Price : £65.70
more details
BROWSE FOR BOOKS IN RELATED CATEGORIES
 THE ARTS
 history of art / art & design styles
 history of art & design styles: from c 1900 -
 art styles: c 1960 -


Information provided by www.pickabook.co.uk
SHOPPING BASKET
  
Your basket is empty
  Total Items: 0
 

Up to 35% off new titles
The Fates Divide
By: VERONICA ROTH
Fans of Star Wars, Divergent and Carve the Mark will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth''s final instalment in her stunning science-fiction fantasy series.
add to basket

30% off Oxford University Press
Oxford School Dictionary
By: OXFORD DICTIONARIES
This new edition of the bestselling Oxford School Dictionary (paperback) has contemporary, comprehensive vocabulary coverage, example sentences, and fascinating word origins. The dictionary supports students with their language and spelling skills, and helps with the transition from primary to secondary.
add to basket

New Title
Great Telephone Mix-Up
By: SALLY NICHOLLS
A charming tale of community, making new connections and lending a helping hand, from a successful author and illustrator pairing.
add to basket

New Title
Shatter Me
By: TAHEREH MAFI
I''m envious. I couldn''t put it down." (Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of Fallen) Tahereh Mafi is the New York Times bestselling author of the Shatter Me series which has been published in over 30 languages around the world.
add to basket

Up to 35% off New Titles
Mariella, Queen of the Skies
By: EOIN COLFER
Super-smart inventor Mariella doesn''t have time for sleep in this funny and life-affirming gem from award-winning beloved author Eoin Colfer, featuring colour illustrations from rising star Katy Halford.
add to basket

New Title
Rebound
By: KWAME ALEXANDER
From the New York Times-bestselling author Kwame Alexander comes a stunning coming-of-age novel in verse about basketball, family and staying true to yourself. A prequel to The Crossover, winner of the Newbery Medal, and follow-up to Booked, highly commended for the CLiPPA prize and nominated for the Carnegie Medal.
add to basket


New Title
The Invincible Tony Spears - Lost in Space
By: NEAL LAYTON
What would you do if a red button in your kitchen cupboard could transport you to a spaceship? Press it, of course! Created by the award-winning author and illustrator Neal Layton.
add to basket

New Title
PramBusters!
By: ANNE FINE
When the rain threatens to ruin the fun at summer camp, Malik are tasked with some inventing... A funny and charming Little Gem from national treasure Anne Fine, with beautiful artwork by illustration star Vicki Gausden - Anne''s collaborator on Out for the Count. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 5+
add to basket