pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone
     
Email: Subscribe to news & offers:
Need assistance? Log In/Register


Item Details
Title: CRIME PAYS
REFLECTIONS FROM THE FRONT LINE OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE
By: Mike Welham
Format: Paperback

List price: £9.99
Our price: £7.29
Discount:
27% off
You save: £2.70
ISBN 10: 1780880014
ISBN 13: 9781780880013
Availability: Usually dispatched within 1-3 weeks.
 Delivery rates
Stock: Currently 0 available
Publisher: TROUBADOR PUBLISHING
Pub. date: 1 January, 2012
Pages: 352
Description: Crime Pays are the reflections of a Justice of the Peace who, having spent 16 years on the front line of criminal justice. There are few books that openly challenge the criminal justice system from an insider's perspective. This is a unique insight into a Justice of the Peace's view on the real impact crime is having on society.
Synopsis: Crime Pays are the reflections of a Justice of the Peace who, having spent 16 years on the front line of criminal justice, is not slow in courting controversy. Mike Welham's views are critical and damning of government failures. As a magistrate he believes that the Human Rights Act, a necessary law drawn up to deal with abuses by despot dictators, has been highjacked to become a criminals' charter. The outcome is that crime has evolved to an extent that there is virtually no compassion or support for victims. Crime Pays provides a flavour, sometimes humorous, other times frustrating, of cases which Mike has sat on and demonstrates the impact that crime has on us all. He shows how the welfare state has failed and produced a broken society and he argues, with examples, that broken homes, unemployment, political correctness and uncontrolled mass immigration have all contributed to the increase in crime. Mike looks at serious crimes and devotes a section of Crime Pays to the failure of punishment and rehabilitation and a focus on what he terms, `Mrs. Windsor's Hotels', the prisons and the convicts who appear to run them, while also looking at the emotive and controversial issue of the repeated calls for the reintroduction of capital and corporal punishments. There are few books that openly challenge the criminal justice system from an insider's perspective. Crime Pays is therefore a unique insight into a Justice of the Peace's view on the real impact crime is having on society.
Publication: UK
Imprint: Matador
Returns: Returnable
Some other items by this author:

TOP SELLERS IN THIS CATEGORY
Elon Musk (Paperback)
By: Ashlee Vance
Ebury Publishing
Our Price : £4.37
more details
Poverty Safari (Paperback)
By: Darren McGarvey
Luath Press Ltd
Our Price : £5.83
more details
Persepolis I & II (Paperback)
By: Marjane Satrapi
Vintage Publishing
Our Price : £7.29
more details
Daring to Drive (Paperback)
By: Manal Al-Sharif
Simon & Schuster Ltd
Our Price : £9.48
more details
Screw It, Let's Do It (Paperback)
By: Sir Richard Branson
Ebury Publishing
Our Price : £2.56
more details
BROWSE FOR BOOKS IN RELATED CATEGORIES
 LANGUAGE, LITERATURE AND BIOGRAPHY
 biography & autobiography
 biography: general


Information provided by www.pickabook.co.uk
SHOPPING BASKET
  
Your basket is empty
  Total Items: 0
 

Up to 35% off new titles
The Fates Divide
By: VERONICA ROTH
Fans of Star Wars, Divergent and Carve the Mark will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth''s final instalment in her stunning science-fiction fantasy series.
add to basket

30% off Oxford University Press
Oxford School Dictionary
By: OXFORD DICTIONARIES
This new edition of the bestselling Oxford School Dictionary (paperback) has contemporary, comprehensive vocabulary coverage, example sentences, and fascinating word origins. The dictionary supports students with their language and spelling skills, and helps with the transition from primary to secondary.
add to basket

New Title
Great Telephone Mix-Up
By: SALLY NICHOLLS
A charming tale of community, making new connections and lending a helping hand, from a successful author and illustrator pairing.
add to basket

New Title
Shatter Me
By: TAHEREH MAFI
I''m envious. I couldn''t put it down." (Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of Fallen) Tahereh Mafi is the New York Times bestselling author of the Shatter Me series which has been published in over 30 languages around the world.
add to basket

Up to 35% off New Titles
Mariella, Queen of the Skies
By: EOIN COLFER
Super-smart inventor Mariella doesn''t have time for sleep in this funny and life-affirming gem from award-winning beloved author Eoin Colfer, featuring colour illustrations from rising star Katy Halford.
add to basket

New Title
Rebound
By: KWAME ALEXANDER
From the New York Times-bestselling author Kwame Alexander comes a stunning coming-of-age novel in verse about basketball, family and staying true to yourself. A prequel to The Crossover, winner of the Newbery Medal, and follow-up to Booked, highly commended for the CLiPPA prize and nominated for the Carnegie Medal.
add to basket


New Title
The Invincible Tony Spears - Lost in Space
By: NEAL LAYTON
What would you do if a red button in your kitchen cupboard could transport you to a spaceship? Press it, of course! Created by the award-winning author and illustrator Neal Layton.
add to basket

New Title
PramBusters!
By: ANNE FINE
When the rain threatens to ruin the fun at summer camp, Malik are tasked with some inventing... A funny and charming Little Gem from national treasure Anne Fine, with beautiful artwork by illustration star Vicki Gausden - Anne''s collaborator on Out for the Count. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 5+
add to basket