pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone
     
Email: Subscribe to news & offers:
Need assistance? Log In/Register


Item Details
Title: THE SCOTS AND THE TURF
RACING AND BREEDING - THE SCOTTISH INFLUENCE
By: Alan Yuill Walker
Format: Paperback

List price: £8.99
Our price: £6.56
Discount:
27% off
You save: £2.43
ISBN 10: 1785301411
ISBN 13: 9781785301414
Availability: Usually dispatched within 1-2 days.
 Delivery rates
Stock: Currently 17 available
Publisher: BLACK AND WHITE PUBLISHING
Pub. date: 24 October, 2017
Edition: 2nd Revised edition
Pages: 386
Description: The Scots & The Turf tells the story of the amazing contribution made to the world of Thoroughbred horse racing by the Scots and those of Scottish ancestry, past and present, including 2017's Grand National winner One for Arthur.
Synopsis: The Scots & The Turf tells the story of the amazing contribution made to the world of Thoroughbred horse racing by the Scots and those of Scottish ancestry, past and present, including 2017's Grand National winner One for Arthur.Throughout the years, this contribution has been across the board, from jockeys to trainers and owners as well as some superb horses. Currently, Scotland has a great ambassador in Mark Johnston, who has resurrected Middleham in North Yorkshire as one of the country's foremost training centres, while his jumping counterpart Alan King, the son of a Lanarkshire farmer, is now based outside Marlborough. The greatest lady owner of jumpers in recent years was Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother, while Stirling-born Willie Carson was five-times champion jockey on the Flat.These are, of course, familiar names to any racing enthusiast but they represent just a small part of the Scottish connection that has influenced the Sport of Kings down the years.Recognition of the part played by those from north of the Border is long overdue and The Scots & The Turf now sets the record straight with a fascinating account of those who have helped make horse racing into the fabulous spectacle it is today.
Illustrations: 8pp plate section
Publication: UK
Imprint: Black and White Publishing
Returns: Returnable
Some other items by this author:

TOP SELLERS IN THIS CATEGORY
Blood Horses (Paperback)
By: John Jeremiah Sullivan
Vintage Publishing
Our Price : £7.29
more details
Winner: My Racing Life (Hardback)
By: A. P. McCoy
Orion Publishing Co
Our Price : £13.80
more details
Stud (Paperback)
By: Kevin Conley
Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Our Price : £5.59
more details
Ahead on the Flat (Paperback)
By: Mark Howard
Mark Howard Publications
Our Price : £8.24
more details
Festival Fever (Hardback)
By: Anne Holland
O'Brien Press Ltd
Our Price : £14.59
more details
BROWSE FOR BOOKS IN RELATED CATEGORIES
 SPORT, TRAVEL AND LEISURE INTERESTS
 sports & outdoor recreation
 equestrian & animal sports
 horse racing


Information provided by www.pickabook.co.uk
SHOPPING BASKET
  
Your basket is empty
  Total Items: 0
 

Up to 35% off new titles
The Fates Divide
By: VERONICA ROTH
Fans of Star Wars, Divergent and Carve the Mark will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth''s final instalment in her stunning science-fiction fantasy series.
add to basket

30% off Oxford University Press
Oxford School Dictionary
By: OXFORD DICTIONARIES
This new edition of the bestselling Oxford School Dictionary (paperback) has contemporary, comprehensive vocabulary coverage, example sentences, and fascinating word origins. The dictionary supports students with their language and spelling skills, and helps with the transition from primary to secondary.
add to basket

New Title
Great Telephone Mix-Up
By: SALLY NICHOLLS
A charming tale of community, making new connections and lending a helping hand, from a successful author and illustrator pairing.
add to basket

New Title
Shatter Me
By: TAHEREH MAFI
I''m envious. I couldn''t put it down." (Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of Fallen) Tahereh Mafi is the New York Times bestselling author of the Shatter Me series which has been published in over 30 languages around the world.
add to basket

Up to 35% off New Titles
Mariella, Queen of the Skies
By: EOIN COLFER
Super-smart inventor Mariella doesn''t have time for sleep in this funny and life-affirming gem from award-winning beloved author Eoin Colfer, featuring colour illustrations from rising star Katy Halford.
add to basket

New Title
Rebound
By: KWAME ALEXANDER
From the New York Times-bestselling author Kwame Alexander comes a stunning coming-of-age novel in verse about basketball, family and staying true to yourself. A prequel to The Crossover, winner of the Newbery Medal, and follow-up to Booked, highly commended for the CLiPPA prize and nominated for the Carnegie Medal.
add to basket


New Title
The Invincible Tony Spears - Lost in Space
By: NEAL LAYTON
What would you do if a red button in your kitchen cupboard could transport you to a spaceship? Press it, of course! Created by the award-winning author and illustrator Neal Layton.
add to basket

New Title
PramBusters!
By: ANNE FINE
When the rain threatens to ruin the fun at summer camp, Malik are tasked with some inventing... A funny and charming Little Gem from national treasure Anne Fine, with beautiful artwork by illustration star Vicki Gausden - Anne''s collaborator on Out for the Count. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 5+
add to basket