pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone
     
Email: Subscribe to news & offers:
Need assistance? Log In/Register


Item Details
Title: A HISTORY OF BRITAIN - VOLUME 2
THE BRITISH WARS 1603-1776
By: Simon Schama
Format: Paperback

List price: £25.00
Our price: £18.25
Discount:
27% off
You save: £6.75
ISBN 10: 1847920136
ISBN 13: 9781847920133
Availability: Usually dispatched within 1-2 days.
 Delivery rates
Stock: Currently 5 available
Publisher: VINTAGE PUBLISHING
Pub. date: 1 October, 2009
Pages: 448
Description: Simon Schama explores the forces that tore Britain apart during two centuries of dynamic change - transforming outlooks, allegiances and boundaries. But as wars of religious passions gave way to campaigns for profit, the British people did come together in the imperial enterprise of 'Britannia Incorporated'.
Synopsis: Simon Schama explores the forces that tore Britain apart during two centuries of dynamic change - transforming outlooks, allegiances and boundaries.From the beginning of July 1637, battles raged on for 200 years - both at home and abroad, on sea and on land, up and down the length of burgeoning Britain, across Europe, America and India. Most would be wars of faith - waged on wide-ranging grounds of political or religious conviction. But as wars of religious passions gave way to campaigns for profit, the British people did come together in the imperial enterprise of 'Britannia Incorporated'.The British Wars is a story of revolution and reaction, inspiration and disenchantment, of progress and catastrophe, and Schama's evocative narrative brings it vividly to life.
Publication: UK
Imprint: The Bodley Head Ltd
Returns: Returnable
Some other items by this author:
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN (AUD)
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN (CD)
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN (CD)
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN (CD)
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN (HB)
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN (HB)
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN - VOLUME 1
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN - VOLUME 1 (PB)
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN - VOLUME 2
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN - VOLUME 3
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN - VOLUME 3 (PB)
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN 2 (AUD)
A HISTORY OF BRITAIN 2 (CD)
A TALE OF TWO CITIES, A (HB)
AMERICAN FUTURE, THE A HISTORY (HB)
ANSELM KIEFER (HB)
ANSELM KIEFER (PB)
BELONGING
BELONGING (HB)
BELONGING (PB)
BELONGING SIGNED COPIES (HB)
CITIZENS (PB)
CY TWOMBLY - FIFTY YEARS OF WORKS ON PAPER (PB)
CY TWOMBLY AT THE HERMITAGE (HB)
DEAD CERTAINTIES
DEAD CERTAINTIES (PB)
DEAD CERTAINTIES (PB)
EMBARRASSMENT OF RICHES (PB)
HANG-UPS
HANG-UPS (HB)
HANG-UPS (PB)
HISTORY OF BRITAIN (CD)
HISTORY OF BRITAIN (VOL 2): THE BRITISH WARS 1603-1776 (PB)
HISTORY OF BRITAIN (VOL 3) (HB)
HISTORY OF BRITAIN (VOL 3): THE FATE OF THE EMPIRE: 1776-2000 (PB)
HISTORY OF BRITAIN BOX SET 1 VIDEO VAT (HB)
LANDSCAPE AND MEMORY (PB)
PATRIOTS AND LIBERATORS (PB)
Q&A PICASSO (PB)
RAPPACCINI'S DAUGHTER (PB)
REMBRANDT'S EYES (PB)
REMEMBERED LIGHT (HB)
ROUGH CROSSINGS
ROUGH CROSSINGS (PB)
ROUGH CROSSINGS (PB)
SCRIBBLE, SCRIBBLE, SCRIBBLE
SCRIBBLE, SCRIBBLE, SCRIBBLE (HB)
SCRIBBLE, SCRIBBLE, SCRIBBLE (PB)
SIMON SCHAMA'S POWER OF ART (HB)
STORY OF JEWS VOL 2 BELONGING 1492-1900 (HB)
THE AMERICAN FUTURE
THE AMERICAN FUTURE (PB)
THE DEATH OF THE PAST (PB)
THE EMBARRASSMENT OF RICHES (PB)
THE ESSENTIAL CY TWOMBLY (HB)
THE FACE OF BRITAIN (CD)
THE FACE OF BRITAIN (HB)
THE FACE OF BRITAIN (PB)
THE NETHERLANDS AND NAZI GERMANY
THE POWER OF ART
THE POWER OF ART (PB)
THE STORY OF THE JEWS
THE STORY OF THE JEWS (HB)
THE STORY OF THE JEWS (PB)
THE STORY OF THE JEWS (PB)

TOP SELLERS IN THIS CATEGORY
The Queen at 90 (Hardback)
By:
St James's House
Our Price : £18.25
more details
The Scots (Paperback)
By: Alistair Moffat
Birlinn General
Our Price : £7.49
more details
Sikunder Burnes (Hardback)
By: Craig Murray
Birlinn General
Our Price : £18.75
more details
The Sea Kingdoms (Paperback)
By: Alistair Moffat
Birlinn General
Our Price : £7.49
more details
A Fiery & Furious People (Paperback)
By: James Sharpe
Cornerstone
Our Price : £10.94
more details
BROWSE FOR BOOKS IN RELATED CATEGORIES
 HUMANITIES
 history
 british & irish history


Information provided by www.pickabook.co.uk
SHOPPING BASKET
  
Your basket is empty
  Total Items: 0
 

Up to 35% off new titles
The Fates Divide
By: VERONICA ROTH
Fans of Star Wars, Divergent and Carve the Mark will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth''s final instalment in her stunning science-fiction fantasy series.
add to basket

30% off Oxford University Press
Oxford School Dictionary
By: OXFORD DICTIONARIES
This new edition of the bestselling Oxford School Dictionary (paperback) has contemporary, comprehensive vocabulary coverage, example sentences, and fascinating word origins. The dictionary supports students with their language and spelling skills, and helps with the transition from primary to secondary.
add to basket

New Title
Great Telephone Mix-Up
By: SALLY NICHOLLS
A charming tale of community, making new connections and lending a helping hand, from a successful author and illustrator pairing.
add to basket

New Title
Shatter Me
By: TAHEREH MAFI
I''m envious. I couldn''t put it down." (Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of Fallen) Tahereh Mafi is the New York Times bestselling author of the Shatter Me series which has been published in over 30 languages around the world.
add to basket

Up to 35% off New Titles
Mariella, Queen of the Skies
By: EOIN COLFER
Super-smart inventor Mariella doesn''t have time for sleep in this funny and life-affirming gem from award-winning beloved author Eoin Colfer, featuring colour illustrations from rising star Katy Halford.
add to basket

New Title
Rebound
By: KWAME ALEXANDER
From the New York Times-bestselling author Kwame Alexander comes a stunning coming-of-age novel in verse about basketball, family and staying true to yourself. A prequel to The Crossover, winner of the Newbery Medal, and follow-up to Booked, highly commended for the CLiPPA prize and nominated for the Carnegie Medal.
add to basket


New Title
The Invincible Tony Spears - Lost in Space
By: NEAL LAYTON
What would you do if a red button in your kitchen cupboard could transport you to a spaceship? Press it, of course! Created by the award-winning author and illustrator Neal Layton.
add to basket

New Title
PramBusters!
By: ANNE FINE
When the rain threatens to ruin the fun at summer camp, Malik are tasked with some inventing... A funny and charming Little Gem from national treasure Anne Fine, with beautiful artwork by illustration star Vicki Gausden - Anne''s collaborator on Out for the Count. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 5+
add to basket