pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone
     
Email: Subscribe to news & offers:
Need assistance? Log In/Register


Item Details
Title: THE CRADLE OF VIOLENCE
ESSAYS ON PSYCHIATRY, PSYCHOANALYSIS AND LITERATURE
By: Stephen Wilson, Murray Cox (Foreword)
Format: Paperback

List price: £21.99
Our price: £19.79
Discount:
10% off
You save: £2.20
ISBN 10: 185302306X
ISBN 13: 9781853023064
Availability: Usually dispatched within 1-3 weeks.
 Delivery rates
Stock: Currently 0 available
Publisher: JESSICA KINGSLEY PUBLISHERS
Pub. date: 1 January, 1995
Series: Forensic Focus No. 2
Pages: 176
Description: This collection of essays focuses on the unconscious roots of human behaviour in a range of settings: the consulting room, the small group, the workplace, the therapeutic community and the GP's surgery. The author observes that in violence there is an attack not only on the victim, but on the perpetrator's own universe of meaning and value.
Synopsis: This collection of essays focuses on the unconscious roots of human behaviour in a range of settings: the consulting room, the small group, the workplace, the therapeutic community and the GP's surgery. The author draws upon psychoanalytic theory to examine the psychological preconditions for violent behaviour stemming from a failure in courage. He observes that in violence there is an attack not only on the victim, but on the perpetrator's own universe of meaning and value. By examining the psychological implications of death, violence and other extremes, both in literature and in case material, this collection highlights many of the concerns of the field of psychotherapy from an eclectic range of source materials.
Illustrations: 2ill.
Publication: UK
Imprint: Jessica Kingsley Publishers
Returns: Returnable
Some other items by this author:
A GENERAL INTRODUCTION TO PSYCHOANALYSIS (PB)
AN INTRODUCTION TO THE METHODS OF RELATIVISTIC MOLECULAR QUANTUM MECHANICS (HB)
ART + SCIENCE NOW (HB)
ART + SCIENCE NOW (PB)
BRILLOUIN-WIGNER METHODS FOR MANY-BODY SYSTEMS (HB)
BRILLOUIN-WIGNER METHODS FOR MANY-BODY SYSTEMS (PB)
CHEMICAL MODELLING
CHEMICAL MODELLING
CHEMICAL MODELLING (HB)
CHEMICAL MODELLING (HB)
CHEMISTRY BY COMPUTER (PB)
CODING THE THERAPEUTIC PROCESS (PB)
CONQUERING COMPLEXITY IN YOUR BUSINESS (PB)
COVERBS AND COMPLEX PREDICATES IN WAGIMAN (HB)
COVERBS AND COMPLEX PREDICATES IN WAGIMAN (PB)
CRADLE OF VIOLENCE (PB)
DIGITAL MODULATION AND CODING (HB)
FEUDING, CONFLICT AND BANDITRY IN NINETEENTH-CENTURY CORSICA
FEUDING, CONFLICT AND BANDITRY IN NINETEENTH-CENTURY CORSICA (HB)
FEUDING, CONFLICT AND BANDITRY IN NINETEENTH-CENTURY CORSICA (PB)
FINDING YOUR PLACE IN GOD''S PLAN
FLUTTERING HANDS (PB)
FORENSIC PSYCHOTHERAPY (HB)
FORENSIC PSYCHOTHERAPY (PB)
FRONTIERS IN QUANTUM SYSTEMS IN CHEMISTRY AND PHYSICS (HB)
GALBRAITH'S BUILDING AND LAND MANAGEMENT LAW FOR STUDENTS
GALBRAITH'S BUILDING AND LAND MANAGEMENT LAW FOR STUDENTS
GALBRAITH'S BUILDING AND LAND MANAGEMENT LAW FOR STUDENTS
GALBRAITH'S BUILDING AND LAND MANAGEMENT LAW FOR STUDENTS
GALBRAITH'S BUILDING AND LAND MANAGEMENT LAW FOR STUDENTS
GALBRAITH'S BUILDING AND LAND MANAGEMENT LAW FOR STUDENTS
GALBRAITH'S BUILDING AND LAND MANAGEMENT LAW FOR STUDENTS (PB)
GROWTH IN THE AGE OF COMPLEXITY: STEERING YOUR COMPANY TO INNOVATION, PRODUCTIVITY, AND PROFITS IN THE NEW ERA OF COMPETITION (HB)
HANDBOOK OF MOLECULAR PHYSICS AND QUANTUM CHEMISTRY (HB)
HARD LUCK
IDEOLOGY AND EXPERIENCE (PB)
IMITATING THE SINGING OF DRAGONS (HB)
INFORMATION ARTS (PB)
INSTRUCTION IN COLLEGE-LEVEL REMEDIAL MATHEMATICS
INTRODUCING THE FREUD WARS
INTRODUCING THE FREUD WARS (PB)
INTRODUCING THE FREUD WARS (PB)
ISAAC ROSENBERG (PB)
MAKING MEN (HB)
MEMORIES OF THE FUTURE (PB)
METHODS IN COMPUTATIONAL CHEMISTRY (HB)
METHODS IN COMPUTATIONAL CHEMISTRY (HB)
METHODS IN COMPUTATIONAL CHEMISTRY (HB)
METHODS IN COMPUTATIONAL CHEMISTRY (HB)
METHODS IN COMPUTATIONAL CHEMISTRY (HB)
METHODS IN COMPUTATIONAL CHEMISTRY (PB)
METHODS IN COMPUTATIONAL CHEMISTRY (PB)
METHODS IN COMPUTATIONAL CHEMISTRY (PB)
METHODS IN COMPUTATIONAL MOLECULAR PHYSICS (PB)
METHODS IN COMPUTATIONAL MOLECULAR PHYSICS (PB)
MUTATIVE METAPHORS IN PSYCHOTHERAPY (PB)
MY BIRDS
NATURAL SELECTION
ORAL SEDATION FOR DENTAL PROCEDURES IN CHILDREN (HB)
ORAL SEDATION FOR DENTAL PROCEDURES IN CHILDREN (PB)
PROBLEM SOLVING IN COMPUTATIONAL MOLECULAR SCIENCE (PB)
RECENT PROGRESS IN HOMOTOPY THEORY (PB)
RELATED STRANGERS
REMORSE AND REPARATION (HB)
REMORSE AND REPARATION (PB)
REPTILES OF AUSTRALIA CD-ROM, VERSION 3: TERRESTRIAL REPTILES (CD)
SEE THE ELEPHANT FLY (PB)
SELL PHOTOS ONLINE (PB)
SHAKESPEARE AS PROMPTER (PB)
SHAKESPEARE COMES TO BROADMOOR (HB)
SHAKESPEARE COMES TO BROADMOOR (PB)
SIGMUND FREUD
SIGMUND FREUD (AUD)
SIGMUND FREUD (PB)
SIGMUND FREUD (PB)
STRUCTURING THE THERAPEUTIC PROCESS (PB)
THE BLOOMSBURY BOOK OF THE MIND (PB)
THE EFFECTS OF RELATIVITY IN ATOMS, MOLECULES, AND THE SOLID STATE (PB)
THE FUNDAMENTALS OF ELECTRON DENSITY, DENSITY MATRIX AND DENSITY FUNCTIONAL THEORY IN ATOMS, MOLECULES AND THE SOLID STATE (HB)
THE FUNDAMENTALS OF ELECTRON DENSITY, DENSITY MATRIX AND DENSITY FUNCTIONAL THEORY IN ATOMS, MOLECULES AND THE SOLID STATE (PB)
THE GROUP AS POETIC PLAY-GROUND (AUD)
THE INTERPRETATION OF DREAMS
THE INTERPRETATION OF DREAMS (PB)
THE MEANS OF NAMING
THE MEANS OF NAMING
THE MEANS OF NAMING
THE MEANS OF NAMING
THE MEANS OF NAMING
THE MEANS OF NAMING (HB)
THE MEANS OF NAMING (PB)
THE PERSISTENCE OF TASTE (HB)
THE PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE
THE SILENT CRY (PB)
THE WILEY HANDBOOK ON THE COGNITIVE NEUROSCIENCE OF ADDICTION (HB)
THEORETICAL CHEMISTRY AND PHYSICS OF HEAVY AND SUPERHEAVY ELEMENTS (HB)
THEORETICAL CHEMISTRY AND PHYSICS OF HEAVY AND SUPERHEAVY ELEMENTS (PB)
TOPICS IN THE THEORY OF CHEMICAL AND PHYSICAL SYSTEMS (HB)
TRANSFERRING THE UNTRANSFERABLE (PB)
UNFAIR TERMS IN CONSUMER CONTRACTS REGULATIONS (PB)

TOP SELLERS IN THIS CATEGORY
Theory and Practice of Group Psychotherapy, Fifth Edition (Hardback)
By: Irvin D. Yalom, Molyn Leszcz
INGRAM PUBLISHER SERVICES US
Our Price : £40.15
more details
Adult Psychotherapy Homework Planner (Paperback)
By: Arthur E. Jongsma
John Wiley & Sons Inc
Our Price : £36.50
more details
The CBT Art Activity Book (Paperback)
By: Jennifer Guest
Jessica Kingsley Publishers
Our Price : £20.69
more details
Introduction to Coping with Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
By: Leonora Brosan
Little, Brown Book Group
Our Price : £3.64
more details
The Compassionate Mind Approach To Postnatal Depression (Paperback)
By: Michelle Cree
Little, Brown Book Group
Our Price : £11.67
more details
BROWSE FOR BOOKS IN RELATED CATEGORIES
 MEDICINE
 other branches of medicine
 clinical psychology
 psychotherapy


Information provided by www.pickabook.co.uk
SHOPPING BASKET
  
Your basket is empty
  Total Items: 0
 

Up to 35% off new titles
The Fates Divide
By: VERONICA ROTH
Fans of Star Wars, Divergent and Carve the Mark will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth''s final instalment in her stunning science-fiction fantasy series.
add to basket

30% off Oxford University Press
Oxford School Dictionary
By: OXFORD DICTIONARIES
This new edition of the bestselling Oxford School Dictionary (paperback) has contemporary, comprehensive vocabulary coverage, example sentences, and fascinating word origins. The dictionary supports students with their language and spelling skills, and helps with the transition from primary to secondary.
add to basket

New Title
Great Telephone Mix-Up
By: SALLY NICHOLLS
A charming tale of community, making new connections and lending a helping hand, from a successful author and illustrator pairing.
add to basket

New Title
Shatter Me
By: TAHEREH MAFI
I''m envious. I couldn''t put it down." (Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of Fallen) Tahereh Mafi is the New York Times bestselling author of the Shatter Me series which has been published in over 30 languages around the world.
add to basket

Up to 35% off New Titles
Mariella, Queen of the Skies
By: EOIN COLFER
Super-smart inventor Mariella doesn''t have time for sleep in this funny and life-affirming gem from award-winning beloved author Eoin Colfer, featuring colour illustrations from rising star Katy Halford.
add to basket

New Title
Rebound
By: KWAME ALEXANDER
From the New York Times-bestselling author Kwame Alexander comes a stunning coming-of-age novel in verse about basketball, family and staying true to yourself. A prequel to The Crossover, winner of the Newbery Medal, and follow-up to Booked, highly commended for the CLiPPA prize and nominated for the Carnegie Medal.
add to basket


New Title
The Invincible Tony Spears - Lost in Space
By: NEAL LAYTON
What would you do if a red button in your kitchen cupboard could transport you to a spaceship? Press it, of course! Created by the award-winning author and illustrator Neal Layton.
add to basket

New Title
PramBusters!
By: ANNE FINE
When the rain threatens to ruin the fun at summer camp, Malik are tasked with some inventing... A funny and charming Little Gem from national treasure Anne Fine, with beautiful artwork by illustration star Vicki Gausden - Anne''s collaborator on Out for the Count. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 5+
add to basket