pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone
     
Email: Subscribe to news & offers:
Need assistance? Log In/Register


Item Details
Title: IRISH JESUIT CHAPLAINS IN THE FIRST WORLD WAR
By: Damien Burke (Editor)
Format: Paperback

List price: £16.99


We currently do not stock this item, please contact the publisher directly for further information.

ISBN 10: 1910248053
ISBN 13: 9781910248058
Publisher: MESSENGER PUBLICATIONS
Pub. date: 18 September, 2014
Pages: 120
Description: Catholic chaplains in the First World War served alongside the troops at the Front. This is a collection of articles describing the wartime experiences of eleven of these brave men. Illustrated with letters, photographs, and telegrams from the Irish Jesuit Archives, this is a fascinating insight into their experiences.
Synopsis: - Thirty-two Irish Jesuits served as chaplains in the First World War. - They served on the battlefields of France, Belgium, Egypt and Mesopotamia. - Four were killed and two died from illness. The chaplains served alongside the troops and were exposed to the same dangers and threats. Their presence and proximity earned the respect and admiration of the soldiers. Irish Jesuit Chaplains in the First World War gives an insight into the life and experiences of those who served. The book is illustrated using material from the Irish Jesuit Archives in the form of letters, photographs and telegrams."Life here is very pleasant and interesting, provided one does not mind being killed..." Fr John Gwynn SJ
Illustrations: illustrations
Publication: Ireland
Imprint: Messenger Publications
Returns: Non-returnable
Some other items by this author:



Information provided by www.pickabook.co.uk
SHOPPING BASKET
  
Your basket is empty
  Total Items: 0
 

Up to 35% off new titles
The Fates Divide
By: VERONICA ROTH
Fans of Star Wars, Divergent and Carve the Mark will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth''s final instalment in her stunning science-fiction fantasy series.
add to basket

30% off Oxford University Press
Oxford School Dictionary
By: OXFORD DICTIONARIES
This new edition of the bestselling Oxford School Dictionary (paperback) has contemporary, comprehensive vocabulary coverage, example sentences, and fascinating word origins. The dictionary supports students with their language and spelling skills, and helps with the transition from primary to secondary.
add to basket

New Title
Great Telephone Mix-Up
By: SALLY NICHOLLS
A charming tale of community, making new connections and lending a helping hand, from a successful author and illustrator pairing.
add to basket

New Title
Shatter Me
By: TAHEREH MAFI
I''m envious. I couldn''t put it down." (Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of Fallen) Tahereh Mafi is the New York Times bestselling author of the Shatter Me series which has been published in over 30 languages around the world.
add to basket

Up to 35% off New Titles
Mariella, Queen of the Skies
By: EOIN COLFER
Super-smart inventor Mariella doesn''t have time for sleep in this funny and life-affirming gem from award-winning beloved author Eoin Colfer, featuring colour illustrations from rising star Katy Halford.
add to basket

New Title
Rebound
By: KWAME ALEXANDER
From the New York Times-bestselling author Kwame Alexander comes a stunning coming-of-age novel in verse about basketball, family and staying true to yourself. A prequel to The Crossover, winner of the Newbery Medal, and follow-up to Booked, highly commended for the CLiPPA prize and nominated for the Carnegie Medal.
add to basket


New Title
The Invincible Tony Spears - Lost in Space
By: NEAL LAYTON
What would you do if a red button in your kitchen cupboard could transport you to a spaceship? Press it, of course! Created by the award-winning author and illustrator Neal Layton.
add to basket

New Title
PramBusters!
By: ANNE FINE
When the rain threatens to ruin the fun at summer camp, Malik are tasked with some inventing... A funny and charming Little Gem from national treasure Anne Fine, with beautiful artwork by illustration star Vicki Gausden - Anne''s collaborator on Out for the Count. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 5+
add to basket