pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone
     
Email: Subscribe to news & offers:
Need assistance? Log In/Register


Item Details
Title: A COLUMN OF FIRE
By: Ken Follett
Format: Hardback

List price: £20.00
Our price: £14.60
Discount:
27% off
You save: £5.40
ISBN 10: 1447278739
ISBN 13: 9781447278733
Availability: Usually dispatched within 1-2 days.
 Delivery rates
Stock: Currently 375 available
Publisher: PAN MACMILLAN
Pub. date: 12 September, 2017
Edition: Main Market Ed.
Series: The Kingsbridge Novels 3
Pages: 768
Synopsis: The saga that has enthralled the millions of readers of The Pillars of the Earth and World Without End now continues with Ken Follett's magnificent, gripping A Column of Fire.Christmas 1558, and young Ned Willard returns home to Kingsbridge to find his world has changed.The ancient stones of Kingsbridge Cathedral look down on a city torn by religious hatred. Europe is in turmoil as high principles clash bloodily with friendship, loyalty and love, and Ned soon finds himself on the opposite side from the girl he longs to marry, Margery Fitzgerald. Then Elizabeth Tudor becomes queen and all of Europe turns against England. The shrewd, determined young monarch sets up the country's first secret service to give her early warning of assassination plots, rebellions and invasion plans. Elizabeth knows that alluring, headstrong Mary Queen of Scots lies in wait in Paris. Part of a brutally ambitious French family, Mary has been proclaimed the rightful ruler of England, with her own supporters scheming to get rid of the new queen. Over a turbulent half-century, the love between Ned and Margery seems doomed, as extremism sparks violence from Edinburgh to Geneva. With Elizabeth clinging precariously to her throne and her principles, protected by a small, dedicated group of resourceful spies and courageous secret agents, it becomes clear that the real enemies - then as now - are not the rival religions. The true battle pitches those who believe in tolerance and compromise against the tyrants who would impose their ideas on everyone else - no matter the cost.
Reader Age: From 18 years
Publication: UK
Imprint: Macmillan
Returns: Returnable
Some other items by this author:
A COLUMN OF FIRE
A COLUMN OF FIRE (CD)
A COLUMN OF FIRE (HB)
A COLUMN OF FIRE (PB)
A DANGEROUS FORTUNE
A DANGEROUS FORTUNE (PB)
A DANGEROUS FORTUNE (PB)
A PLACE CALLED FREEDOM
A PLACE CALLED FREEDOM (AUD)
A PLACE CALLED FREEDOM (PB)
A PLACE CALLED FREEDOM (PB)
CODE TO ZERO
CODE TO ZERO (CD)
CODE TO ZERO (PB)
CODE TO ZERO (PB)
COLUMN OF FIRE (PB)
DANGEROUS FORTUNE A (PB)
DER DRITTE ZWILLING (PB)
DIE BRUCKEN DER FREIHEIT (PB)
DIE LEOPARDIN (PB)
DIE NADEL (PB)
DIE PFEILER DER MACHT (PB)
DIE PFEILER DER MACHT (PB)
DIE SAULEN DER ERDE (HB)
DIE SAULEN DER ERDE (PB)
DIE TORE DER WELT (PB)
EDGE OF ETERNITY
EDGE OF ETERNITY (CD)
EDGE OF ETERNITY (HB)
EDGE OF ETERNITY (PB)
EDGE OF ETERNITY (PB)
EDGE OF ETERNITY (PB)
EDGE OF ETERNITY (PB)
EDGE OF ETERNITY EXPORT ED (PB)
EL INVIERNO DEL MUNDO (PB)
EL INVIERNO DEL MUNDO (PB)
EL UMBRAL DE LA ETERNIDAD (PB)
EYE OF THE NEEDLE
EYE OF THE NEEDLE
EYE OF THE NEEDLE (CD)
EYE OF THE NEEDLE (HB)
EYE OF THE NEEDLE (PB)
EYE OF THE NEEDLE (PB)
EYE OF THE NEEDLE (PB)
FALL OF GIANTS
FALL OF GIANTS
FALL OF GIANTS (CD)
FALL OF GIANTS (HB)
FALL OF GIANTS (PB)
FALL OF GIANTS (PB)
FALL OF GIANTS (PB)
FILARY ZIEMI OP+OBW (PB)
HAMMER OF EDEN (CD)
HAMMER OF EDEN (HB)
HORNET FLIGHT
HORNET FLIGHT
HORNET FLIGHT
HORNET FLIGHT (CD)
HORNET FLIGHT (PB)
HORNET FLIGHT (PB)
I PILASTRI DELLA TERRA (PB)
IL TERZO GEMELLO (PB)
JACKDAWS
JACKDAWS (AUD)
JACKDAWS (CD)
JACKDAWS (CD)
JACKDAWS (HB)
JACKDAWS (PB)
JACKDAWS (PB)
KEY TO REBECCA
L' UOMO DI PIETROBURGO (PB)
L'HIVER DU MONDE/LE SIECLE 2 (PB)
LA CAIDA DE LOS GIGANTES (PB)
LA CAIDA DE LOS GIGANTES (PB)
LA CHUTE DES GEANTS (PB)
LA NUIT DE TOUS LES DANGERS (PB)
LE RESEAU CORNEILLE (PB)
LE SCANDALE MODIGLIANI (PB)
LE TROISIEME JUMEAU (PB)
LE VOL DU FRELON (PB)
LIE DOWN WITH LIONS
LIE DOWN WITH LIONS (AUD)
LIE DOWN WITH LIONS (CD)
LIE DOWN WITH LIONS (PB)
LIE DOWN WITH LIONS (PB)
LO SCANDALO MODIGLIANI (PB)
MAN FROM ST PETERSBURG (CD)
MAN FROM ST. PETERSBURG (PB)
MODIGLIANI SCANDAL (PB)
NIEBEZPIECZNA FORTUNA OP+OBW (PB)
NIGHT OVER WATER
NIGHT OVER WATER (AUD)
NIGHT OVER WATER (CD)
NIGHT OVER WATER (PB)
NIGHT OVER WATER (PB)
NOITE SOBRE AS AGUAS (PB)
NOTTE SULL'ACQUA (PB)
O ESTILETE ASSASSINO (PB)
ON WINGS OF EAGLES
ON WINGS OF EAGLES (PB)
ON WINGS OF EAGLES (PB)
PAPER MONEY
PAPER MONEY (HB)
PAPER MONEY (PB)
PAPER MONEY (PB)
PAPER MONEY (PB)
PILIERS DE LA TERRE (PB)
PILLARS OF THE EARTH (PB)
PILLARS OF THE EARTH TV TIE IN (PB)
PLACE CALLED FREEDOM
STURZ DER TITANEN (PB)
THE EYE OF THE NEEDLE (AUD)
THE HAMMER OF EDEN
THE HAMMER OF EDEN (AUD)
THE HAMMER OF EDEN (PB)
THE HAMMER OF EDEN (PB)
THE HAMMER OF EDEN (PB)
THE KEY TO REBECCA
THE KEY TO REBECCA (AUD)
THE KEY TO REBECCA (CD)
THE KEY TO REBECCA (PB)
THE KEY TO REBECCA (PB)
THE MAN FROM ST PETERSBURG
THE MAN FROM ST PETERSBURG (PB)
THE MAN FROM ST. PETERSBURG (AUD)
THE MAN FROM ST. PETERSBURG (PB)
THE MODIGLIANI SCANDAL
THE MODIGLIANI SCANDAL (HB)
THE MODIGLIANI SCANDAL (PB)
THE MODIGLIANI SCANDAL (PB)
THE PILLARS OF THE EARTH
THE PILLARS OF THE EARTH
THE PILLARS OF THE EARTH (CD)
THE PILLARS OF THE EARTH (HB)
THE PILLARS OF THE EARTH (PB)
THE PILLARS OF THE EARTH (PB)
THE PILLARS OF THE EARTH (PB)
THE PILLARS OF THE EARTH (PB)
THE PILLARS OF THE EARTH (PB)
THE PILLARS OF THE EARTH (PB)
THE THIRD TWIN
THE THIRD TWIN (AUD)
THE THIRD TWIN (CD)
THE THIRD TWIN (PB)
THE THIRD TWIN (PB)
TRIANGLE (PB)
TRIPLE
TRIPLE
TRIPLE (AUD)
TRIPLE (CD)
TRIPLE (PB)
TRIPLE (PB)
TRIPLE (PB)
UN LUOGO CHIAMATO LIBERTA (PB)
UN MONDE SANS FIN (PB)
UNDER THE STREETS OF NICE (AUD)
WHITE OUT (CD)
WHITEOUT
WHITEOUT (AUD)
WHITEOUT (AUD)
WHITEOUT (CD)
WHITEOUT (HB)
WHITEOUT (PB)
WHITEOUT (PB)
WIAT BEZ KOCA CZARNA OP+OBW (PB)
WIAT BEZ KOCA ZIELONA OP (PB)
WINTER DER WELT (PB)
WINTER OF THE WORLD
WINTER OF THE WORLD
WINTER OF THE WORLD (CD)
WINTER OF THE WORLD (HB)
WINTER OF THE WORLD (HB)
WINTER OF THE WORLD (PB)
WINTER OF THE WORLD (PB)
WINTER OF THE WORLD EXPORT (PB)
WORLD WITHOUT END
WORLD WITHOUT END
WORLD WITHOUT END (CD)
WORLD WITHOUT END (HB)
WORLD WITHOUT END (PB)
WORLD WITHOUT END (PB)
WORLD WITHOUT END (PB)
WORLD WITHOUT END (PB)
WORLD WITHOUT END (PB)
WORLD WITHOUT END (PB)
WORLD WITHOUT END (PB)
WORLD WITHOUT END (PB)
WORLD WITHOUT END (PB)

CUSTOMERS WHO PURCHASED THIS ITEM ALSO BOUGHT
The Dancing Bear (Paperback)
By: Michael Morpurgo
more details
The Butterfly Lion ()
By: Michael Morpurgo, Christian Birmingham (Illus)
more details
Dear Olly (Paperback)
By: Michael Morpurgo, Christian Birmingham (Illus)
more details
TOP SELLERS IN THIS CATEGORY
A Column of Fire (Hardback)
By: Ken Follett
Pan Macmillan
Our Price : £14.60
more details
Lieutenant Hornblower (Paperback)
By: C. S. Forester
Penguin Books Ltd
Our Price : £6.56
more details
Assassin''s Creed: The Official Film Tie-In (Paperback)
By: Christie Golden
Penguin Books Ltd
Our Price : £5.10
more details
The Pillars of the Earth (Paperback)
By: Ken Follett
Pan Macmillan
Our Price : £7.29
more details
Sharpe's Triumph (Paperback)
By: Bernard Cornwell
HarperCollins Publishers
Our Price : £6.56
more details
BROWSE FOR BOOKS IN RELATED CATEGORIES
 FICTION
 genre fiction
 adventure / thriller
 historical adventure


Information provided by www.pickabook.co.uk
SHOPPING BASKET
  
Your basket is empty
  Total Items: 0
 

Up to 35% off new titles
The Fates Divide
By: VERONICA ROTH
Fans of Star Wars, Divergent and Carve the Mark will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth''s final instalment in her stunning science-fiction fantasy series.
add to basket

30% off Oxford University Press
Oxford School Dictionary
By: OXFORD DICTIONARIES
This new edition of the bestselling Oxford School Dictionary (paperback) has contemporary, comprehensive vocabulary coverage, example sentences, and fascinating word origins. The dictionary supports students with their language and spelling skills, and helps with the transition from primary to secondary.
add to basket

New Title
Great Telephone Mix-Up
By: SALLY NICHOLLS
A charming tale of community, making new connections and lending a helping hand, from a successful author and illustrator pairing.
add to basket

New Title
Shatter Me
By: TAHEREH MAFI
I''m envious. I couldn''t put it down." (Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of Fallen) Tahereh Mafi is the New York Times bestselling author of the Shatter Me series which has been published in over 30 languages around the world.
add to basket

Up to 35% off New Titles
Mariella, Queen of the Skies
By: EOIN COLFER
Super-smart inventor Mariella doesn''t have time for sleep in this funny and life-affirming gem from award-winning beloved author Eoin Colfer, featuring colour illustrations from rising star Katy Halford.
add to basket

New Title
Rebound
By: KWAME ALEXANDER
From the New York Times-bestselling author Kwame Alexander comes a stunning coming-of-age novel in verse about basketball, family and staying true to yourself. A prequel to The Crossover, winner of the Newbery Medal, and follow-up to Booked, highly commended for the CLiPPA prize and nominated for the Carnegie Medal.
add to basket


New Title
The Invincible Tony Spears - Lost in Space
By: NEAL LAYTON
What would you do if a red button in your kitchen cupboard could transport you to a spaceship? Press it, of course! Created by the award-winning author and illustrator Neal Layton.
add to basket

New Title
PramBusters!
By: ANNE FINE
When the rain threatens to ruin the fun at summer camp, Malik are tasked with some inventing... A funny and charming Little Gem from national treasure Anne Fine, with beautiful artwork by illustration star Vicki Gausden - Anne''s collaborator on Out for the Count. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 5+
add to basket