pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone
     
Email: Subscribe to news & offers:
Need assistance? Log In/Register


Item Details
Title: "THE TWO NOBLE KINSMEN"
By: William Shakespeare, Lois Potter (Editor)
Format: Paperback

List price: £11.99
Our price: £10.49
Discount:
12.5% off
You save: £1.50
ISBN 10: 1904271189
ISBN 13: 9781904271185
Availability: Usually dispatched within 1-3 weeks.
 Delivery rates
Stock: Currently 0 available
Publisher: BLOOMSBURY PUBLISHING PLC
Pub. date: 29 November, 1996
Series: The Arden Shakespeare
Pages: 412
Description: Largely ignored for centuries because of doubts about its authorship and its subject matter, "The Two Noble Kinsmen" is surprisingly relevant to many current interests. This text supplies information on sources and contexts, and compares a number of late-20th century stagings of the play.
Synopsis: This is the first Arden edition of The Two Noble Kinsmen. Largely ignored for centuries because of doubts about its authorship and its subject matter, once considered distasteful, it is surprisingly relevant to many current interests. Lois Potter's valuable edition gives a full exposition of contemporary claims as to authorship and genre, discussing all the elements of collaborative writing ' not only the two authors themselves but their historical, theatrical and literary contexts. She argues that, complex as the collaboration process was, the end product can be discussed as a coherent work because of and not despite the circumstances of its production. Potter supplies new information on sources and, drawing on her extensive experience as a theatre critic, discusses the play's afterlife and compares a number of recent stagings of the play.'Potter's The Two Noble Kinsmen...shows how, even in the case of a play with a comparatively limited performance history, understanding of performance can inform every aspect of an edition...as usual with the Arden series, it is the amplitude and intelligence of the commentary that is so striking.'Peter Holland, Times Literary Supplement
Illustrations: illustrations
Publication: UK
Imprint: Arden Shakespeare
Returns: Returnable
Some other items by this author:
"A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM (PB)
"A MIDSUMMER NIGHTS DREAM" (PB)
"ALL''S WELL THAT ENDS WELL" (HB)
"ALL'S WELL THAT ENDS WELL" (HB)
"ALL'S WELL THAT ENDS WELL" (HB)
"ALL'S WELL THAT ENDS WELL" (PB)
"ALL'S WELL THAT ENDS WELL" (PB)
"ANTONY AND CLEOPATRA" (HB)
"ANTONY AND CLEOPATRA" (HB)
"ANTONY AND CLEOPATRA" (PB)
"AS YOU LIKE IT" (HB)
"AS YOU LIKE IT" (HB)
"AS YOU LIKE IT" (HB)
"AS YOU LIKE IT" (HB)
"AS YOU LIKE IT" (HB)
"AS YOU LIKE IT" (PB)
"AS YOU LIKE IT" (PB)
"AS YOU LIKE IT" BY WILLIAM SHAKESPHERE
"CORIOLANUS" (HB)
"CORIOLANUS" (HB)
"CORIOLANUS" (PB)
"CORIOLANUS" (PB)
"CORIOLANUS" (PB)
"CYMBELINE" (HB)
"CYMBELINE" (HB)
"CYMBELINE" (HB)
"CYMBELINE" (PB)
"CYMBELINE" (PB)
"DOUBLE FALSEHOOD" (HB)
"DOUBLE FALSEHOOD" (PB)
"HAMLET"
"HAMLET" (HB)
"HAMLET" (HB)
"HAMLET" (HB)
"HAMLET" (HB)
"HAMLET" (PB)
"HAMLET" (PB)
"HAMLET" (PB)
"HAMLET" (PB)
"HAMLET" (PB)
"HAMLET" (PB)
"HAMLET" BUNDLE
"HAMLET": WILLIAM SHAKESPEARE (PB)
"HENRY V" (CD)
"HENRY V" (CD)
"HENRY V" (CD)
"JULIUS CAESAR"
"JULIUS CAESAR" (HB)
"JULIUS CAESAR" (HB)
"JULIUS CAESAR" (HB)
"JULIUS CAESAR" (HB)
"JULIUS CAESAR" (PB)
"JULIUS CAESAR" (PB)
"KING HENRY IV" (HB)
"KING HENRY IV" (HB)
"KING HENRY IV" (HB)
"KING HENRY IV" (HB)
"KING HENRY IV" (HB)
"KING HENRY IV" (HB)
"KING HENRY IV" (PB)
"KING HENRY IV" (PB)
"KING HENRY IV, PART 1" (PB)
"KING HENRY V" (HB)
"KING HENRY V" (HB)
"KING HENRY V" (HB)
"KING HENRY V" (PB)
"KING HENRY VI" (HB)
"KING HENRY VI" (HB)
"KING HENRY VI" (HB)
"KING HENRY VI" (HB)
"KING HENRY VI" (HB)
"KING HENRY VI" (HB)
"KING HENRY VI" (HB)
"KING HENRY VI" (HB)
"KING HENRY VI" (PB)
"KING HENRY VI" (PB)
"KING HENRY VI" (PB)
"KING HENRY VIII" (HB)
"KING HENRY VIII" (HB)
"KING HENRY VIII" (PB)
"KING JOHN" (HB)
"KING JOHN" (HB)
"KING JOHN" (HB)
"KING JOHN" (PB)
"KING JOHN" (PB)
"KING LEAR"
"KING LEAR" (HB)
"KING LEAR" (HB)
"KING LEAR" (HB)
"KING LEAR" (PB)
"KING LEAR" (PB)
"KING LEAR" (PB)
"KING LEAR" (PB)
"KING RICHARD II" (HB)
"KING RICHARD II" (HB)
"KING RICHARD II" (HB)
"KING RICHARD II" (HB)
"KING RICHARD II" (PB)
"KING RICHARD III" (HB)
"KING RICHARD III" (PB)
"KING RICHARD III" (PB)
"KING RICHARD III" (PB)
"LOVE'S LABOURS LOST" (HB)
"LOVE'S LABOURS LOST" (PB)
"MACBETH"
"MACBETH" (CD)
"MACBETH" (CD)
"MACBETH" (CD)
"MACBETH" (HB)
"MACBETH" (HB)
"MACBETH" (HB)
"MACBETH" (PB)
"MACBETH" (PB)
"MACBETH" (THE PLAYERS' SHAKESPEARE) (HB)
"MEASURE FOR MEASURE" (HB)
"MEASURE FOR MEASURE" (HB)
"MEASURE FOR MEASURE" (PB)
"MEASURE FOR MEASURE" (PB)
"MEASURE FOR MEASURE" (PB)
"MERCHANT OF VENICE"
"MERCHANT OF VENICE" (HB)
"MERCHANT OF VENICE" (HB)
"MERCHANT OF VENICE" (PB)
"MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM" (PB)
"MIDSUMMER NIGHTS" (HB)
"MIDSUMMER NIGHTS" (PB)
"MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING"
"MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING" (HB)
"MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING" (HB)
"MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING" (HB)
"MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING" (HB)
"MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING" (PB)
"OTHELLO" (CD)
"OTHELLO" (CD)
"OTHELLO" (CD)
"OTHELLO" (HB)
"OTHELLO" (HB)
"OTHELLO" (PB)
"OTHELLO" (PB)
"PERICLES" (HB)
"PERICLES" (HB)
"PERICLES" (HB)
"PERICLES" (HB)
"PERICLES" (HB)
"PERICLES" (PB)
"POEMS" (HB)
"RICHARD II" (PB)
"RICHARD III"
"RICHARD III" (PB)
"ROMEO AND JULIET"
"ROMEO AND JULIET" (CD)
"ROMEO AND JULIET" (CD)
"ROMEO AND JULIET" (CD)
"ROMEO AND JULIET" (HB)
"ROMEO AND JULIET" (PB)
"ROMEO AND JULIET" (PB)
"ROMEO AND JULIET" (THE PLAYERS' SHAKESPEARE) (HB)
"TAMING OF THE SHREW" (HB)
"TAMING OF THE SHREW" (PB)
"THE "THE MERCHANT OF VENICE" (PB)
"THE COMEDY OF ERRORS" (HB)
"THE COMEDY OF ERRORS" (HB)
"THE COMEDY OF ERRORS" (PB)
"THE MERCHANT OF VENICE" (HB)
"THE MERCHANT OF VENICE" (HB)
"THE MERRY WIVES OF WINDSOR" (HB)
"THE MERRY WIVES OF WINDSOR" (PB)
"THE TAMING OF THE SHREW (PB)
"THE TAMING OF THE SHREW" (HB)
"THE TAMING OF THE SHREW" (PB)
"THE TEMPEST" (CD)
"THE TEMPEST" (HB)
"THE TWO GENTLEMEN OF VERONA" (HB)
"THE TWO GENTLEMEN OF VERONA" (PB)
"THE TWO NOBLE KINSMEN" (HB)
"THE WINTER'S TALE" (HB)
"THE WINTER'S TALE" (HB)
"THE WINTER'S TALE" (PB)
"THE WINTER'S TALE" (PB)
"TIMON OF ATHENS" (HB)
"TIMON OF ATHENS" (HB)
"TIMON OF ATHENS" (HB)
"TIMON OF ATHENS" (PB)
"TIMON OF ATHENS" (PB)
"TITUS ANDRONICUS" (HB)
"TITUS ANDRONICUS" (HB)
"TITUS ANDRONICUS" (PB)
"TITUS ANDRONICUS" (PB)
"TROILUS AND CRESSIDA" (HB)
"TROILUS AND CRESSIDA" (PB)
"TWELFTH NIGHT" (CD)
"TWELFTH NIGHT" (CD)
"TWELFTH NIGHT" (CD)
"TWELFTH NIGHT" (HB)
"TWELFTH NIGHT" (HB)
"TWELFTH NIGHT" (PB)
"TWELFTH NIGHT" (PB)
"TWELFTH NIGHT" (PB)
"TWELFTH NIGHT" (PB)
"TWO GENTLEMEN OF VERONA" (PB)

TOP SELLERS IN THIS CATEGORY
Macbeth (Paperback)
By: William Shakespeare, Prof. Cedric Watts, Dr. Keith Carabine
Wordsworth Editions Ltd
Our Price : £1.39
more details
Romeo and Juliet (Paperback)
By: William Shakespeare, Prof. Cedric Watts, Prof. Cedric Watts (Editor)
Wordsworth Editions Ltd
Our Price : £1.39
more details
A Midsummer Night's Dream (Paperback)
By: William Shakespeare, Prof. Cedric Watts, Prof. Cedric Watts
Wordsworth Editions Ltd
Our Price : £1.39
more details
Macbeth (Hogarth Shakespeare) (Hardback)
By: Jo Nesbo
Vintage Publishing
Our Price : £13.00
more details
Macbeth the Graphic Novel (Paperback)
By: William Shakespeare, Jon Haward (Illus), Nigel Dobbyn (Illus)
Classical Comics
Our Price : £7.29
more details
BROWSE FOR BOOKS IN RELATED CATEGORIES
 LANGUAGE, LITERATURE AND BIOGRAPHY
 literature: texts
 drama texts, plays
 drama texts: 16th to 18th centuries
 shakespeare plays, texts


Information provided by www.pickabook.co.uk
SHOPPING BASKET
  
Your basket is empty
  Total Items: 0
 

Up to 35% off new titles
The Fates Divide
By: VERONICA ROTH
Fans of Star Wars, Divergent and Carve the Mark will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth''s final instalment in her stunning science-fiction fantasy series.
add to basket

30% off Oxford University Press
Oxford School Dictionary
By: OXFORD DICTIONARIES
This new edition of the bestselling Oxford School Dictionary (paperback) has contemporary, comprehensive vocabulary coverage, example sentences, and fascinating word origins. The dictionary supports students with their language and spelling skills, and helps with the transition from primary to secondary.
add to basket

New Title
Great Telephone Mix-Up
By: SALLY NICHOLLS
A charming tale of community, making new connections and lending a helping hand, from a successful author and illustrator pairing.
add to basket

New Title
Shatter Me
By: TAHEREH MAFI
I''m envious. I couldn''t put it down." (Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of Fallen) Tahereh Mafi is the New York Times bestselling author of the Shatter Me series which has been published in over 30 languages around the world.
add to basket

Up to 35% off New Titles
Mariella, Queen of the Skies
By: EOIN COLFER
Super-smart inventor Mariella doesn''t have time for sleep in this funny and life-affirming gem from award-winning beloved author Eoin Colfer, featuring colour illustrations from rising star Katy Halford.
add to basket

New Title
Rebound
By: KWAME ALEXANDER
From the New York Times-bestselling author Kwame Alexander comes a stunning coming-of-age novel in verse about basketball, family and staying true to yourself. A prequel to The Crossover, winner of the Newbery Medal, and follow-up to Booked, highly commended for the CLiPPA prize and nominated for the Carnegie Medal.
add to basket


New Title
The Invincible Tony Spears - Lost in Space
By: NEAL LAYTON
What would you do if a red button in your kitchen cupboard could transport you to a spaceship? Press it, of course! Created by the award-winning author and illustrator Neal Layton.
add to basket

New Title
PramBusters!
By: ANNE FINE
When the rain threatens to ruin the fun at summer camp, Malik are tasked with some inventing... A funny and charming Little Gem from national treasure Anne Fine, with beautiful artwork by illustration star Vicki Gausden - Anne''s collaborator on Out for the Count. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 5+
add to basket